Sue Kline to Receive JFNA's 2022 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award


Dedicated philanthropist and Columbia Jewish community leader Sue Kline has been selected to receive the 2022 Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award from the Jewish Federations of North America’s National Women’s Philanthropy division. Sue has been involved with Federation since she got married 50 years ago. An Endowed Lion of Judah, Sue chaired our Women's Campaign for numerous years and currently serves on the National Women's Philanthropy board.

Sue was selected to receive the Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award, which has honored extraordinary women philanthropists and volunteers each year since 2004. She will be recognized at the International Lion of Judah Conference in Phoenix on December 11-13, 2022; and women of Jewish Columbia are invited to celebrate Sue locally when she receives her award at a Palmetto Club Luncheon on December 1 at noon.

"It is fitting that Sue Kline is receiving this honor," says Ana Sazonov, Executive Director of the Columbia Jewish Federation. “Sue is a Woman of Valor and an inspirtation to the women in our community. She leads with her heart, encouraging the identity, growth, and commitment of future generations at home, in Israel, and around the world."

The Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award was created as a tribute to Norma Kipnis-Wilson and Toby Friedland of blessed memory, who co-founded Federation’s Lion of Judah program in 1972. More than 18,000 Lions of Judah around the world contribute $5,000 or more annually in their own name to Jewish Federation’s Annual Campaign.

“I must credit my mother-in-law and husband Jerry for teaching me the importance of involvement in community and Federation. It's been an amazing experience to serve on the National Women's Philanthropy board. My sister board members are inspiring, and it is my hope to continue working to improve Jewish life in our small community."

For more information about Jewish women’s leadership opportunities or the Lion of Judah program, contact Ana Sazonov at or 803-787-2023.